Richard Neutra Award for Professional Excellence | Cal Poly Pomona

The Neutra medal recognizes the contributions that Richard Neutra, an acclaimed modern architect and former Cal Poly Pomona lecturer, made to the practice of architecture in the areas of research and design as well as to reward individuals who have dedicated their careers toward researching and developing new environments in which to work, live and play.

Neutra was one of the most influential architects of the modernist era. In 1969, he served as a professor at Cal Poly Pomona during a joint appointment with the Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban and Regional Planning departments. He passed away in 1970.

Cal Poly Pomona and the College of Environmental Design are the owners and caretakers of the Neutra VDL Studio and Residences, a Los Angeles house that Neutra built and resided in.

Receipients of the Neutra Medal

2021 Toyo Ito
2019 Alejandro Aravena
2018 Frank O. Gehry
2017 Guy Nordenson
2016 Carme Pinós
2015 Enrique Norten
2014 Michael Rotondi
2012 Tadao Ando
2011 Thom Mayne
2007 Ilze & Grant Jones
2004 Sim Van der Ryn
2002 Samuel Mockbee (posthumous award)
2001 Kim Abeles
2000 Rafael Viñoly
1999 Al Gore (Vice President of the United States)
1998 Glenn Murcutt
1997 John T. Lyle
1996 Albert Frey
1995 Francis H. Dean
1994 Jamie Lerner
1993 Moshe Safdie
1992 lan McHarg
1991 Renzo Piano
1990 Roberto Burle Marx
1989 Herman Hertzberger
1988 Kisho Kurokawa
1987 Ray Kappe
1986 Lawrence Halprin
1985 Erich Schneider-Wessling
1984 Ralph Rapson
1983 Garrett Eckbo
1982 Harwell Hamilton Harris
1981 Raphael Soriano
1980 Konrad Wachsmann